September 26, 2016 marked the fourth anniversary of the Civil Affairs department massacre in Deir Ezzor

Editorial Board
Written by Editorial Board

Language / اللغة العربية

September 12, 2016, was one of the most dolorous and plaintive days in the history of the Syrian revolution in Deir Ezzor due to the horrific massacre carried out by the regime’s aerial bombardment on the Civil Affairs department building, which was used by the FSA Legal Committee of Deir Ezzor at the time.
After the FSA established full control over key areas in the city of Deir Ezzor in particular and the province in general, they realized that it was necessary upon them to establish institutions in order to regulate the relations of civilians between each other and between the FSA as well. As a part of an unprecedented move, Dr. Khalil Al-Boudrani, an FSA leader operating in the region at the time, along with some of his comrades decided to establish a civil committee to help perverse the order and adjust the society. Following days after the establishment of the committee, whose the majority of its members were local jurists, proved to all the people residing in the region its capability of managing the affairs in a futile and just manner.
The success and effectiveness of the committee became a source of concern for the Assad-regime who considered it as a real threat to its existence in the area. Therefore, the regime came up with a barbaric, evil plan to put an end to it. On September 26, 2012, during a meeting held between some military commanders and the committee, the regime carried out air strikes on the committee building, killing a number of the attendees and wounding several others.
In that tearful, grieving day, Deir Ezzor city lost several of the FSA heroes and other administrative stuff who remain memorable in the hearts of everyone in the province to the very moment.
Names of some of the people who rose as martyrs that day.



  1. Dr. Khalil Al-Boudrani, one of the leaders of the FSA in Deir Ezzor
  2. Nabil Al-Abd, member of the legal committee
  3. The child Majed Walid Albduallah, 12.
  4. Firass Khalifa
  5. Zubayr Samer Khalaf Alawi
  6. Samer Khalaf Alawi
  7. Thayer Khalaf Alawi
  8. Abdl Aziz Ragheb Al Shaykh, a media activist
  9. Nabil Al-Ashram, member of the legal committee in Deir Ezzor
  10. Mouamar Shami
  11. Mohamed Al-Ghafra
  12. Thayer Al-Tayawi ( member of the committee)
  13. Ahmed Al-Khater
  14. Yasser Alawi
  15. Mazen Subhi Darwish
  16. Rami Al-Kadrou

Leave a Comment

error: النسخ ممنوع من ديرالزور24